comment 0

Rhubarb Crumble with Cardamom

Rhubarb-crumble

 

Since rhubarb is in season I keep seeing it everywhere so I had to make a good old Rhubarb crumble. I always used to think it was a bit weird that we make desserts from some kind of vegetable stalk. How can it be so tasty? Having grown up with a garden where rhubarb grew like weeds, it feels wrong to buy rhubarb in a shop. Why do I have to pay for it? This is an unreasonable attitude from my side. I don’t have a garden. I have to pay for all of my food. I wish I had a garden.

This is yet another recipe with my good old favourite Cardamom in it because it goes so well with Rhubarb. If you’re not a fan of Cardamom, just leave it out.

Ingredients
400 g Rhubarb
2 tablespoon corn starch flour (or potato starch flour)
75 ml sugar
200 ml oats
100 ml ground almonds
3/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
100 g butter
1/4 teaspoon salt

Instructions
Het the oven to 200 degrees celsius. Chop the rhubarb into 2 cm pieces and place in a pie dish. If the rhubarb is a bit rougher you might want to peel it. Sprinkle over the sugar and the corn starch. In a bowl mix oats, ground almonds, cardamom and salt. Cut the cold butter into small pieces. Mix with the oats mix until it has a crumbly texture, the easiest tool for this are your hands. Place in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes until the top is golden. Serve with vanilla bean custard, vanilla ice cream or greek yoghurt.

Leave a Reply

